Lower Valley Energy Board of Director Receives Prestigious Award

(June 5, 2023) Afton, WY – Fred Brog, a 35-year veteran of the Lower Valley Energy Board of Directors, was recently awarded one of the Northwest’s most prestigious industry accolades, Northwest Public Power Association’s (NWPPA) John M. George Public Service Award. According to NWPPA, the award is given to a “public utility official who has demonstrated outstanding service to furthering the goals and objectives of public power.”

Fred’s dedication to public power – locally, regionally, and even nationally – has been faithful and enthusiastic. Fred has committed 35 years of service to Lower Valley Energy and held all positions on the board, including Chairman. Fred has also tirelessly represented his cooperative on the Wyoming statewide for over 5 years and served on the Idaho statewide board for 20+ years prior to that. Fred was also elected to serve on two national electric cooperative financing boards.

Fred Brog has deep-rooted ties to electric cooperatives. Fred’s father Ernest Brog helped start the cooperative and even his sister is woven into the story as she was named Rea, after the Rural Electrification Administration.

NWPPA was founded in 1940 and is comprised of over 150 public utility districts, electric cooperatives and municipalities across the Pacific Northwest. The highly sought-after John M. George Public Service Award was established in 1967 by the NWPPA Board of Trustees to recognize remarkable service to public power.

PHOTO: (L-R) NWPPA Executive Director Scott Corwin, LVE Board of Director Fred Brog, NWPPA First Vice President and Fall River REC Director Doug Schmier, and NWPPA Awards Committee Chair and Okanogan PUD Director of Regulatory and Environmental Affairs Jeri Timm.